DIY Window Decor

Hey y’all!

I love sharing projects and ideas that will motivate people to look around their homes and see what changes can be made for little to no cost at all.

This project is one of my favorite DIY projects to date.  Not only was it free, it was an adventure getting this old window home.
In our area we have ‘Spring Clean up’ and ‘Fall Clean up’, or as I call it…”garbage pickin’ week”.  Each clean up lasts for one week and everyone puts what they’re tossing out of their houses to the curb.  Then people like me go driving around looking to see what goodies have been left to be rescued.
IMG_20141002_212515
Here I am in my glory, crouched like a raccoon (even though I know they don’t crouch…), work socks and sandals (don’t judge), with my trusty headlamp (genius) ready to rescue some trash.

I told my husband that I had seen two old windows leaning up against a tree and I wanted his help to carry them home.  He declined my request, so I went at it alone.
I think it might have been the socks and sandals… whatever, it’s comfortable.

Here she is.
Sad, broken, and begging for a new life.

20140824_112104 Enter Miss Mustard Seed.

 

I can’t get enough of Miss Mustard Seed Milk Paint.  You can use it on anything, seriously.

I painted the window frame with “Ironstone” and then “Eulalie’s Sky”, gave it a light sanding to distress it, added a piece of scrap wood that I found in our garage as a shelf, and put a mason jar on the ‘shelf’ which I change up every season.

Next, I attached a couple of hooks on the back and hung it on the guest bedroom wall.
That’s it!

cropped-img_20160528_2136081.jpg

What do ya think?

I hope I’ve given you some inspiration to find old items hanging around your house that can be given a new life for little to no cost at all!

Thanks for dropping by!
Pamela

 

Posted in: DIY

Leave a Reply

